You are here

National Safety Month

The Department of Environmental Safety, Sustainability and Risk (ESSR) joins the National Safety Council and thousands of organizations nationwide in celebrating National Safety Month.

National Safety Month focuses on reducing leading causes of injury at work, at school, on the road and in our homes and communities.

ESSR has four units that focus on safety:

Office of the Fire Marshal

Manages the university's compliance with the State Fire Prevention Code and other applicable fire safety laws and standards.  

Office of Environmental Affairs  

Facilitates compliance with federal and state environmental regulations.

Office of Risk Management 

Provides support and consultation regarding the risks naturally encountered in the course of the research, service, and teaching mission of the university.

Office of Research Safety

Supports the research community in meeting the university’s Expectations for Conducting Safe Research with the expertise of the Biosafety, Laboratory Safety and Radiation Safety professional staff.

How can National Safety Month help make a difference?

We can use this month to increase awareness about best practices that can help prevent injuries.